Home Events

Events

Sep
26
Tue
Daren Wang discusses his novel The Hidden Light of Northern Fires @ Flyleaf Books
Sep 26 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

A novel rooted in the remarkable, little-known history of the only secessionist town north of the Mason-Dixon Line.

When escaped slave Joe Bell collapses in her father’s barn, Mary Willis must ward off Confederate guerrillas and spies, Joe’s vengeful owner, and even her own brother to help the handsome fugitive cross to freedom. Mary has always been an outspoken abolitionist, and helping runaways is the only thing that makes her life in Town Line bearable. When rebels cross from nearby Canada intent on killing him, they bring the war’s brutal devastation, and threaten to destroy all that Mary loves.

Sep
28
Thu
Jessica Cluess and Scott Reintgen discuss A Poison Dark and Drowning and Nyxia, their new YA novels @ Flyleaf Books
Sep 28 all-day

A Poison Dark and Drowning: In this seductive and explosive second book in the Kingdom on Fire series, Jessica Cluess delivers her signature mix of magic, passion, and teen warriors fighting for survival.

Nyxia: Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller that has the action of The Maze Runner and the high-stakes space setting of Illuminae. This is the first in a new series called the Nyxia Triad that will take a group of broken teens to the far reaches of the universe and force them to decide what they’re willing to risk for a lifetime of fortune.

Oct
2
Mon
Eli J. Finkel discusses his book The All-Or-Nothing Marriage: How the Best Marriages Work In conversation with Dan Ariely @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 2 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The structure of modern successful marriages is revealed in this inspiring and useful new perspective on the most important relationship a human being can have.

The institution of marriage in America is struggling. But as Eli Finkel’s most recent research reveals, the best marriages today are better than the best marriages of earlier eras. Indeed, they are the best marriages the world has ever known. Still, the quality of the average marriage is in decline. This book reverse engineers the best marriages–from the “traditional” to the utterly nontraditional–showing how any marriage can be better.

Oct
3
Tue
E. Lockhart discusses her new YA novel Genuine Fraud @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 3 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

From the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars comes a masterful psychological suspense novel—the story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves?

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, maybe two.
A bad romance, maybe three.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.

Oct
4
Wed
Blaire Briody signs her book The New Wild West: Black Gold, Fracking, and Life in a North Dakota Boomtown @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 4 @ 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Williston, North Dakota was a sleepy farm town for generations—until the frackers arrived. The oil companies moved into Williston, overtaking the town and setting off a boom that America hadn’t seen since the Gold Rush. Workers from all over the country descended, chasing jobs that promised them six-figure salaries and demanded no prior experience.

The New Wild West is the definitive account of what’s happening on the ground and what really happens to a community when the energy industry is allowed to set up in a town with little regulation or oversight—and at what cost.

Diane Chamberlain discusses her new novel The Stolen Marriage @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 4 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

In 1944, twenty-three-year-old Tess DeMello abruptly ends her engagement to the love of her life when she marries a mysterious stranger and moves to Hickory, North Carolina. Tess’s new husband, Henry Kraft, is a secretive man whose actions grow more alarming by the day. Tess quickly realizes she’s trapped in a strange and loveless marriage with no way out. When a sudden polio epidemic strikes the town, the townspeople band together to build a polio hospital.
As Tess works to save the lives of her patients, can she untangle her husband’s mysterious behavior and save her own life?

Oct
5
Thu
KL Pereira discusses her story collection A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 5 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality is both literary and speculative, both magically real and viscerally strange in the tradition of Angela Carter, Karen Russell, and Jorge Luis Borges. In this collection, KL Pereira weaves elements of fairy tale, folklore, and myth into the lives of women, children, and immigrants. Her lucid prose underscores the tenacity of those who are most vulnerable, who live on edges between neat and clear definitions of who they are and who they want to be. Free of normative ideas of gender, class, race, and sexuality, Pereira explores rebirth amidst darkness.

Oct
9
Mon
Jared Yates Sexton discusses his new book The People Are Going to Rise Like the Waters Upon Your Shore In conversation with Bronwen Dickey @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 9 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

On June 14, 2016, Jared Yates Sexton reported from a Donald Trump rally in Greensboro, North Carolina. Following a series of tweets that saw his observations viewed well over a million times, his reporting was soon featured in The Washington Post, NPR, Bloomberg, and Mother Jones, and the New York Times. His latest is a firsthand account of the events that shaped the 2016 Presidential Election and the cultural forces that enabled it. Featuring in-the-field reports and deep analysis, Sexton’s book is also a sobering chronicle of our democracy’s political polarization—a result of our self-constructed, technologically-assisted echo chambers.

Oct
11
Wed
Wiley Cash discusses his new novel The Last Ballad in conversation with Randall Kenan @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 11 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The author of the celebrated bestseller A Land More Kind Than Home returns with this eagerly awaited new novel, set in the Appalachian foothills of North Carolina in 1929 and inspired by actual events, that chronicles an ordinary woman’s struggle for dignity and her rights in a textile mill, a moving tale of courage in the face of oppression and injustice, with the emotional power of Ron Rash’s Serena, Dennis Lehane’s The Given Day, and the unforgettable films Norma Rae and Silkwood.

Oct
17
Tue
Rocket Fantastic: Poets Gabrielle Calvocoressi and Alan Shapiro discuss their new books @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 17 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Like nothing before it, Rocket Fantastic reinvents the landscape and language of the body in interconnected poems that entwine a fabular past with an iridescent future by blurring, with disarming vulnerability, the real and the imaginary. Sorcerous, jazz-tinged, erotic, and wide-eyed, this is a pioneering work by a space-age balladeer.

Alan Shapiro’s newest book of poetry is situated at the intersection between private and public history, as well as individual life and the collective life of middle-class America. Shapiro attends to the world in ways that are as deeply personal and freshly social—both timeless and utterly of this particular moment.

Oct
23
Mon
Dana Coen presents a dramatic reading from his anthology Twenty-Five Short Plays @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 23 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

We’re thrilled to host Dana Coen, along with two actors who will perform two pieces from this exciting new anthology. This free event is suitable for teens and up due to adult situations and language.
In the fall of 2011, The Long Story Shorts One Act Festival was launched, featuring performances of short plays written by undergraduate students in the Writing for the Screen and Stage minor housed in the Department of Communication at UNC Chapel Hill. Marking the first five years of the festival, this anthology showcases works written to be performed in ten minutes with a small budget.

Oct
25
Wed
Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor discuss It Devours! A Welcome to Night Vale Novel @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 25 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

This ticketed event is $24. Each ticket includes one copy of It Devours. Buy your tickets through our Brown Paper Tickets page: http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/3070658

From the authors of the New York Times bestselling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the creators of its podcast, comes a noir-esque mystery exploring faith and science.
Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to Night Vale. Working for the town’s top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when she’s assigned to investigate a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town.

Nov
1
Wed
Ellery Adams discusses The Secret, Book, and Scone Society, her new mystery novel @ Flyleaf Books
Nov 1 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

From New York Times bestselling author comes the first in an intriguing new series set within a quirky small-town club where the key to happiness, friendship—or solving a murder—can all be found within the pages of the right book.

Miracle Springs, North Carolina, is a place of healing. At Miracle Books, strangers exchange their stories with owner Nora Pennington in return for a carefully chosen book. When a visiting businessman reaches out to Nora for guidance, she knows exactly which novels will help. But before he can keep their, he’s found dead on the train tracks.

Nov
2
Thu
Emily Herring Wilson discusses her book The Three Graces of Vall-Kill: Eleanor Roosevelt, Marion Dickerman, and Nancy Cook in the Place They Made Their Own @ Flyleaf Books
Nov 2 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The Three Graces of Val-Kill changes the way we think about Eleanor Roosevelt. Emily Wilson examines what she calls the most formative period in Roosevelt’s life, from 1922 to 1936, when she cultivated an intimate friendship with Marion Dickerman and Nancy Cook, who helped her build a cottage on the Val-Kill Creek in Hyde Park on the Roosevelt family land. In the early years, the three women–the “three graces,” as Franklin Delano Roosevelt called them–were nearly inseparable and forged a female-centered community or each other, for family, and for New York’s progressive women.