Home Events

Events

Sep
19
Tue
Mark Bray discusses his book Antifa: The Anti-Fascist Handbook @ Flyleaf Books
Sep 19 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

As long as there has been fascism, there has been anti-fascism —known as “antifa,” born out of resistance to Mussolini and Hitler in Europe during the 1920s and ’30s. Historian and former Occupy Wall Street organizer Mark Bray provides a one-of-a-kind look inside the movement, including a detailed survey of its history from its origins to the present day — the first transnational history of postwar anti-fascism in English. Based on interviews with anti-fascists from around the world, Antifa details the tactics of the movement and the philosophy behind it, offering insight into the resistance fighting back against the alt-right.

Sep
22
Fri
Annalee Newitz discusses her debut sci-fi novel Autonomous @ Flyleaf Books
Sep 22 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The highly anticipated science fiction debut from the founder of io9!

Earth, 2144. Jack is an anti-patent scientist turned drug pirate, traversing the world in a submarine as a pharmaceutical Robin Hood, fabricating cheap scrips for poor people who can’t otherwise afford them. But her latest drug hack has left a trail of lethal overdoses as people become addicted to their work, doing repetitive tasks until they become unsafe or insane. Underlying it all is one fundamental question: Is freedom possible in a culture where everything, even people, can be owned?

Sep
26
Tue
Daren Wang discusses his novel The Hidden Light of Northern Fires @ Flyleaf Books
Sep 26 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

A novel rooted in the remarkable, little-known history of the only secessionist town north of the Mason-Dixon Line.

When escaped slave Joe Bell collapses in her father’s barn, Mary Willis must ward off Confederate guerrillas and spies, Joe’s vengeful owner, and even her own brother to help the handsome fugitive cross to freedom. Mary has always been an outspoken abolitionist, and helping runaways is the only thing that makes her life in Town Line bearable. When rebels cross from nearby Canada intent on killing him, they bring the war’s brutal devastation, and threaten to destroy all that Mary loves.

Sep
28
Thu
Jessica Cluess and Scott Reintgen discuss A Poison Dark and Drowning and Nyxia, their new YA novels @ Flyleaf Books
Sep 28 all-day

A Poison Dark and Drowning: In this seductive and explosive second book in the Kingdom on Fire series, Jessica Cluess delivers her signature mix of magic, passion, and teen warriors fighting for survival.

Nyxia: Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller that has the action of The Maze Runner and the high-stakes space setting of Illuminae. This is the first in a new series called the Nyxia Triad that will take a group of broken teens to the far reaches of the universe and force them to decide what they’re willing to risk for a lifetime of fortune.

Oct
2
Mon
Eli J. Finkel discusses his book The All-Or-Nothing Marriage: How the Best Marriages Work In conversation with Dan Ariely @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 2 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The structure of modern successful marriages is revealed in this inspiring and useful new perspective on the most important relationship a human being can have.

The institution of marriage in America is struggling. But as Eli Finkel’s most recent research reveals, the best marriages today are better than the best marriages of earlier eras. Indeed, they are the best marriages the world has ever known. Still, the quality of the average marriage is in decline. This book reverse engineers the best marriages–from the “traditional” to the utterly nontraditional–showing how any marriage can be better.

Oct
3
Tue
E. Lockhart discusses her new YA novel Genuine Fraud @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 3 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

From the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars comes a masterful psychological suspense novel—the story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves?

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, maybe two.
A bad romance, maybe three.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.

Oct
5
Thu
KL Pereira discusses her story collection A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 5 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality is both literary and speculative, both magically real and viscerally strange in the tradition of Angela Carter, Karen Russell, and Jorge Luis Borges. In this collection, KL Pereira weaves elements of fairy tale, folklore, and myth into the lives of women, children, and immigrants. Her lucid prose underscores the tenacity of those who are most vulnerable, who live on edges between neat and clear definitions of who they are and who they want to be. Free of normative ideas of gender, class, race, and sexuality, Pereira explores rebirth amidst darkness.

Oct
9
Mon
Jared Yates Sexton discusses his new book The People Are Going to Rise Like the Waters Upon Your Shore In conversation with Bronwen Dickey @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 9 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

On June 14, 2016, Jared Yates Sexton reported from a Donald Trump rally in Greensboro, North Carolina. Following a series of tweets that saw his observations viewed well over a million times, his reporting was soon featured in The Washington Post, NPR, Bloomberg, and Mother Jones, and the New York Times. His latest is a firsthand account of the events that shaped the 2016 Presidential Election and the cultural forces that enabled it. Featuring in-the-field reports and deep analysis, Sexton’s book is also a sobering chronicle of our democracy’s political polarization—a result of our self-constructed, technologically-assisted echo chambers.

Oct
11
Wed
Wiley Cash discusses his new novel The Last Ballad in conversation with Randall Kenan @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 11 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The author of the celebrated bestseller A Land More Kind Than Home returns with this eagerly awaited new novel, set in the Appalachian foothills of North Carolina in 1929 and inspired by actual events, that chronicles an ordinary woman’s struggle for dignity and her rights in a textile mill, a moving tale of courage in the face of oppression and injustice, with the emotional power of Ron Rash’s Serena, Dennis Lehane’s The Given Day, and the unforgettable films Norma Rae and Silkwood.

Oct
23
Mon
Dana Coen presents a dramatic reading from his anthology Twenty-Five Short Plays @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 23 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

We’re thrilled to host Dana Coen, along with two actors who will perform two pieces from this exciting new anthology. This free event is suitable for teens and up due to adult situations and language.
In the fall of 2011, The Long Story Shorts One Act Festival was launched, featuring performances of short plays written by undergraduate students in the Writing for the Screen and Stage minor housed in the Department of Communication at UNC Chapel Hill. Marking the first five years of the festival, this anthology showcases works written to be performed in ten minutes with a small budget.

Oct
25
Wed
Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor discuss It Devours! A Welcome to Night Vale Novel @ Flyleaf Books
Oct 25 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

This ticketed event is $24. Each ticket includes one copy of It Devours. Buy your tickets through our Brown Paper Tickets page: http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/3070658

From the authors of the New York Times bestselling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the creators of its podcast, comes a noir-esque mystery exploring faith and science.
Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to Night Vale. Working for the town’s top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when she’s assigned to investigate a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town.

Nov
1
Wed
Ellery Adams discusses The Secret, Book, and Scone Society, her new mystery novel @ Flyleaf Books
Nov 1 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

From New York Times bestselling author comes the first in an intriguing new series set within a quirky small-town club where the key to happiness, friendship—or solving a murder—can all be found within the pages of the right book.

Miracle Springs, North Carolina, is a place of healing. At Miracle Books, strangers exchange their stories with owner Nora Pennington in return for a carefully chosen book. When a visiting businessman reaches out to Nora for guidance, she knows exactly which novels will help. But before he can keep their, he’s found dead on the train tracks.